Traditionally, for Christians, the arrival of a new baby means a baptism. That is part of our heritage, part of the special inheritance of your child.
At the heart of baptism, is the initiation into membership of the Christian community — the Church. To be baptised is to become a Christian and experience for life both the blessings and the responsibilities of that commitment. As a parent, you will make promises on behalf of your child. We want to help you prepare for this.
Arrangements for Baptism may only be made by the parents or carer of the child. To apply for your child’s baptism please download and complete our Baptism Application form here or collect a copy from the back of the church.
To apply for your baptismal certificate for other purposes please complete request form (application for Baptismal (Application for Baptismal Certificate)and return it with a stamped addressed envelope to St Joseph’s, Burton Rd, Derby DE1 1TJ

Holy Communion

At every celebration of Mass we re-enact what Jesus did at the last supper as described by St Luke in his gospel:
He took bread, and when he had given thanks he broke it and gave it to them, saying,”This is my body which is given for you. Do this in remembrance of me.” And likewise the cup after supper, saying, “This cup which is poured out for you is the new covenant in my blood…”
These words of Jesus, “Do this in remembrance of me” have been obeyed without interruption  for nearly 2000 years. Every time we gather for Mass, we know we are there to do what Jesus did, and we believe that in that action Jesus is made present in us. This is why Mass plays the central part in our community.

We take the preparation of our children for their First Holy Communion very seriously. Details of preparation classes are given in the newsletter at the beginning of the year.

First Holy Communion 2020
Due to unforseen circumstances the start date for First Holy Communion preparation this year has been postponed. Fr John will make a decision when it begins and takes place on his return in March.
Fr Mark Brentnall Dean, Derby Deanery

Sacrament of Confirmation 2020

The Sacrament will be celebrated on Thursday, 14th May 2020 at 7pm by Bishop Patrick. The Confirmation programme is open to young people in School Year 9 and above. Full details are in letter and accompanying documents in church porch. Please take a form which must be completed and returned to Fr John by Sunday, 15th December 2019.
Confirmation is the completion of what was begun at Baptismal initiation. At Confirmation we open ourselves up to the gifts of the Holy Spirit and accept our calling to lead a full Christian life for God and our neighbour in the service of Jesus Christ and his Church.
There is a tradition in the Church of speaking about the 7 gifts of the Holy Spirit. This custom can be traced to Isaiah 11:1-3 which sets down these gifts.
The Christian life is all its aspects is the first gift of the Holy Spirit – each person has special gifts which the Holy Spirit uses for the good of  others


If you live in St Joseph’s parish  please speak to Fr John in good time in order to allow appropriate preparation. A minimum of  6 months notice of intention to marry at St Joseph’s is required.
Normally, at least one of the couple getting married should live within the parish boundaries.
Those who do not live in St Joseph’s parish will also need the permission of their own parish priest for the wedding to take place here.
If you are thinking of marriage in the coming year please contact Fr John as soon as you begin your preparations.
Please contact Fr John for further information


The sacrament of Reconciliation allows us to be reconciled to God when we have failed to live our baptismal commitment  and turned away from the principles of the Gospel. In Reconciliation we can confess where we have failed and make a fresh decision to amend our lives.
Confessions are in the church every Saturday between 10.00 – 10.30am (check current newsletter for any adjustment).
Fr John is also available at his weekly parish surgery see current newsletter, and also at any time on request.
In addition, the parish  hosts a yearly celebration of this Sacrament and details will be given in the weekly newsletter.

Sacrament of the Sick

The care of those who are housebound, elderly or sick is a priority in our parish.If you know of someone who is not receiving visits or who is going into hospital please let Fr John know.
Celebration of this Sacrament can take place in a person’s home or in hospital upon request. Please contact Fr John.
If a patient in hospital please contact Fr John 01332 343777
Occasionally, the parish hosts a celebration of this Sacrament in the church and details are  given in the weekly newsletter.

Holy Orders

The root meaning of vocation is calling and the first calling shared by all Christians is holiness as a member of the Church. Once a person takes seriously their personal call to holiness, then the other dimensions of Christian vocation are opened up. Another dimension is the state of life to which Christ calls people. There are four basic states of life within the Catholic Church: marriage, religious life, priesthood and the single state as a lay person.
PriesthoodWhen someone feels called by God to become a priest it is important that they have plenty of time to think and pray about this so that they and others can discern whether in fact this is their true vocation.
Beginning formation for the priesthood is a big step and involves sacrifices being made. Those who are in formation already may have had to give up their jobs and even their homes. Also, being a priest is quite challenging and therefore it is important that those who apply for the priesthood are properly assessed before they are accepted.

Contacting our parish priest

Each week Fr John is available to meet parishioners with no appointment.
The time and day varies each week and is given in the current newsletter (This time also includes the opportunity for confession.)